Open Access Task Force established to evaluate efforts to share research and scholarship

Provost Bob Jones has established an Open Access Task Force that has been charged to lead “a university-wide discussion about open access to research data at Clemson and provide recommendations for future initiatives and directions that ensure university research and scholarship is disseminated as widely as possible.”

The task force is co-chaired by Chris Cox, Dean of Clemson Libraries and Sheila Lischwe, Director of the Office of Sponsored Programs in the Division of Research. It comprises representatives from each college, CCIT and Clemson University Press.

The task force, which was formed in Spring 2023, has reviewed the University’s open access activities and those of aspirational peer institutions and has recently launched a survey for faculty and others engaged in open access work. The results of the survey will be used to write recommendations for new or strengthened open access policies and initiatives and work with the administration to develop implementation plans.

“Clemson Libraries have heavily invested in open access, and we want to make sure that the services we are offering are in alignment with faculty needs,” Cox said. “The conversations we will have will help the University understand the issues at hand, determine appropriate policy responses, and invest to ensure all Clemson research is open.”

“Federal funding agencies are issuing new requirements for data sharing that are now incorporated into proposals and awards, towards the aim of accelerating the pace and quality of science that addresses society’s most pressing issues,” said Lischwe. “The Open Access discussion is timely and necessary, particularly in light of the Clemson Elevate strategic plan to double research by 2035.”

In addition to Cox and Lischwe, members of the task force are:

  • College representatives:
    • Karen Burton, Science Librarian, Clemson Libraries
    • Steve Creager, Associate Dean, College of Science
    • Nigel Kaye, Professor, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
    • Jean McKendry, Director of Research Development, College of Education:
    • Elysse Newman, Associate Dean, College of Architecture, Art and Humanities
    • Lu Shi, Associate Professor, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences
    • Skip Van Bloem, Professor, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences
    • Craig Wallace, Chair of the Department of Management, Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business
  • CCIT representative: Jill Gemmill, Executive Director of Research Computing and Data Engagement
  • Clemson University Press representative: Alison Mero, Director.

Faculty, staff and others who would like to share feedback related to open access may do so on the form on the Open Access Task Force website.